Your new spouse normally has no legal obligation to support your children from a prior relationship. (Although in North Carolina, such a support obligation may arise if you take the child into your home, and your new spouse basically assumes a parental role.)
Consequently, How long does a parent have to pay child support in NC? Child support is a parent’s court-ordered payment to help with the costs of raising a child. In North Carolina, child support obligations normally last until the child turns 18 years old, but can continue up until he or she turns 20 if the child is still in high school.
What are examples of extraordinary expenses? For example, special and extraordinary expenses may include:
- Treatment for chronic diseases.
- Mental health counseling.
- Private education.
- Extracurricular school activities.
- Travel-intensive sports and other activities.
Keeping this in consideration, Can you go to jail for not paying child support in North Carolina?
If the obligor parent fails to pay the full amount of child support, they can face contempt of court charges including significant fines and in some circumstances, jail time.
Is child support mandatory in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, both parents must provide child support. Generally, however, only the non-custodial parent actually makes payments. The custodial parent remains responsible for child support too, but the law assumes that this parent spends the required amount directly on the child.
What percentage does North Carolina take for child support? Under North Carolina law, garnishment of a paycheck for child support may be ordered for up to forty percent (40%) of the net available pay. Garnishment is a court proceeding that requires a lawyer or the help of the Child Support Enforcement Office.
Do I still have to pay child support if my ex remarries? The answer is no. When parents divorce, the absent parent (“paying parent”) is obliged by law to pay child maintenance to the parent caring for the child (“receiving parent”).
Does a step parents income affect child support in NC? Step-parents may be responsible to pay child support for children that are not of their marriage, but the requirement to pay is dependent on the facts of the case. In the presence of a signed and notarized agreement to pay support, that contract will be enforceable. See Moyer v. Moyer 122 N.C. App.
Is child support retroactive in NC?
Can child support be retroactive in North Carolina? Yes. As a parent, you owe your children support regardless of whether there is a child support order in place. Therefore, the courts can order retroactive child support for the period before a child support order was entered.
How often is child support reviewed in NC? CSS automatically reviews child support orders every three years if the family is receiving public assistance. Other orders being enforced through CSS may be reviewed every 36 months if either parent requests such a review.
When can I stop paying child support?
When does child maintenance stop? If child maintenance has been paid under a Child Maintenance Service Agreement, then the law states that maintenance will be paid until: The child is 16 years old. The child is 20 years old if they continue in full-time education to the end of A- levels.
How can you stop paying child support? The parent needs to reach out to the court and request the termination of child support payments. Typically, child support validly ends when the child reaches the age of maturity, passes away, gets married or leaves for undergraduate studies.
What are section 7 expenses BC?
Special or extraordinary expenses sometimes called Section 7 expenses are amounts due for a child under a maintenance order or agreement in addition to ongoing child support. We may be able to collect special or extraordinary expenses if they are clearly set out in the order or agreement.
How are extraordinary expenses calculated?
Special and Extra expenses are divided proportionally between the parents based on their relative incomes. There is a little math involved. First, add both parent’s income together. Then divide one parent’s income by the total income and multiply by 100.
What is extraordinary income? Extraordinary Income shall consist of one-time non-recurring income items, including, but not limited to, gains on sale and acquisition related recapture of contingent or escrowed purchase money payments.
How much do you have to owe in child support to go to jail? If the child support owed exceeds $10,000 or is overdue by more than two years, the offense is a felony that carries up to a two-year prison sentence.
Does my boyfriend have to pay child support if we live together?
If the person you live with is not your children’s parent, then that person has no obligation to support your children. The amount of child support your ex-spouse is ordered to pay usually isn’t affected by the fact that you live with someone else.
Do you have to pay child support if you have 50/50 custody in NC? There is a common misconception that one does not have to pay child support if they have joint custody of their children. However, this is simply not true. A parent with joint custody of their kids may have to pay child support to the other parent and here’s why…
Which state has the highest child support rate?
In state-by-state rankings, Massachusetts ranks highest with the most expensive child support payments, averaging $1,187 per month. Virginia mandates the least support at $402 per month.
How do I get rid of child support in NC? In North Carolina, there are two ways to begin a child support case: in civil court or through a criminal action. You can file for child support on your own, with a lawyer that you retain, or the Division of Social Services (DSS) can file the child support case for you.
How much should a man pay for child support?
On the basic rate, if you’re paying for: one child, you’ll pay 12% of your gross weekly income. two children, you’ll pay 16% of your gross weekly income. three or more children, you’ll pay 19% of your gross weekly income.
Don’t forget to share this post !