Instructions for Filing a Divorce

For assistance or to obtain forms you may go to the website established by the Alabama State Bar Association: Forms can also be obtained from the Gadsden Public Library, our website or the internet.

Secondly, How long does it take to get a divorce finalized in Alabama? It usually takes about 6-10 weeks for a judge to sign your divorce decree and for you to be officially divorced. It takes this long because the court’s cannot officially order you divorced until 30 days have passed from the time of the divorce being filed.

What is the divorce process in Alabama?

While divorce laws vary by state, here are the basic steps: First, you must meet the residency requirements of the state in which you wish to file. Second, you must have “grounds” (a legally acceptable reason) to end your marriage. Third, you must file divorce papers and have copies sent to your spouse.

Similarly, How long does it take to get a divorce finalized in Georgia? There is a mandatory waiting period, even if the divorce is considered no-fault is 30 days before the court issues the Final Order and Decree of Divorce. The average duration of the process for uncontested divorces is 45 – 60 days depending on the court’s availability.

How do I change my name in Etowah County Alabama?

We can help.

  1. First, you need to find out if you are eligible for a name change. …
  2. Compile the identification documents you’ll need. …
  3. Find a copy of your marriage certificate or divorce decree. …
  4. Collect additional documents if you’re requesting a name change for a minor. …
  5. Bring your necessary documents to your lawyer.

How much does it cost to change your name Alabama? The fee is $25.00 and they will accept either a cashier’s check or money order. Please refer to the Alabama Department of Public Safety’s website listed below for required photo identification (follow the links).

How do I change my name after divorce in Alabama? Your Alabama divorce attorney can help you change your name at the time of the divorce by adding it to the divorce agreement and final order or filing a legal proceeding after the divorce is final. This may be accomplished by filing a petition to change your name in the Probate Court of your county of residence.

How much does it cost to change your name? Name changes cost anywhere from under $100 to more than $500, depending on your state. In many states, fees vary in each county, so check with your local probate, family, or district court clerk. Many states still have fees well under $100.

How long do you have to change your name after getting married in Alabama?

Wait at least 24 hours after going to the Social Security office before seeking an Alabama driver’s license name change. It takes about a day for records to be updated in the system.

Can I change my last name without getting married in Alabama? You will need to provide an Alabama Driver’s License or photo ID, a birth certificate, supporting marriage and/or divorce documents, and 2 proofs of residency in Jefferson County (utility bill, voter registration, deed, etc.). The name change form does not require an attorney to file.

Can you legally change your last name in Alabama?

Hello, Alabama! A name change isn’t necessarily a difficult legal task, but it does require some research, preparation, and paperwork. You’ll need to obtain some form of legal proof of a name change, most often a certified copy of your marriage certificate, divorce decree, or a court order changing your name.

Does marriage license change last name in Alabama? Alabama’s policies make it a great state to change your name in. All of the name-change options are allowed under state law. So, you can take your spouse’s last name, hyphenate your last names, take two last names sans hyphen, take your maiden name as a middle name or replace your middle name with your maiden name.

How long do you have to change your name after marriage in Alabama?

Wait at least 24 hours after going to the Social Security office before seeking an Alabama driver’s license name change. It takes about a day for records to be updated in the system.

Can I change my name through Social Security Online?

If you legally change your name because of marriage, divorce, court order or any other reason, you must tell Social Security so you can get a corrected card. You cannot apply for a corrected card online.

Do I need a lawyer to change my name? You do not need to follow any legal procedure in order to change your name. You may call yourself whatever you choose as long as you are not defrauding anyone.

How old do you have to be to change your name? A child age 14 or older must consent to their own name change. If any of the children are 14 or older, each child must complete a consent.

Is there a limit to how many times you can get married in Alabama?

There is no limit on the number of times a person can get married, as long as the person is only married to one person at a time. The person would have to divorce the prior spouse before getting a valid marriage to another person.

How long can you be married and still get an annulment in Alabama? There is no length of time one must be married in order to get an annulment or a divorce. Many people believe that a short marriage may be annulled simply because of the length of the marriage.

What makes a marriage license invalid?

The grounds on which a marriage is void. The marriage is not a valid marriage under the provisions of the Marriages Acts 1949 to 1986. The parties are within the prohibited degrees. Either of the parties is under the age of 16 years.

Can I change my child’s last name without father’s consent in Alabama? Filing Petition by Attorney

An attorney may file a petition for a change of name if the mother or father refuses to consent to the change. An attorney may also file a petition if the whereabouts of either the child’s mother or father are unknown.

Can I change my baby’s last name after registration?

If you registered your child’s birth but want to change the first name, you can do so within a year of the registration. This change can only be made once. After year, it can only be done by deed poll.

Can you marry your cousin in Alabama? Cousin marriage laws in the United States vary considerably from one state to another, ranging from cousin marriages being legal in some to being a criminal offense in others.


State Alabama
First cousin marriage allowed Yes
Sexual relations or cohabitation allowed Yes
First-cousin marriages void No

Where do I go to change my last name in Alabama?

Complete the petition for a name change for an Adult. The State of Alabama provides Form PS-12 or you can use the local petitions provided by your Local Probate Court.

How do I go about changing my last name after marriage? How to Change Your Name in 10 Steps

  1. Get Your Marriage License and Certified Copies. …
  2. Update Your Social Security Card. …
  3. Get a New Driver’s License. …
  4. Get a New Passport and Travel Documents. …
  5. Change the Name on Your Bank Accounts. …
  6. Change the Name on Your Credit Cards. …
  7. Provide Your New Name and Banking Information to Your Employer.

What do you need to change your name on your license in Alabama?

For a name change, you will need to present valid name change documents (e.g., marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order or legal name change document), along with proof that your name has been changed with the Social Security Administration.

Don’t forget to share this post !