Arkansas law presumes that a couple’s marital property will be split between them 50-50, but several factors may lead a judge to change to unequal distribution. First, though, the judge will determine what is marital and non-marital property. Non-marital property is kept by whoever brought it into the marriage.
Secondly, How is property divided in a divorce in Arkansas? Property Division in Arkansas
The statute essentially requires that all marital property be divided in half (unless such division is inequitable) while non-marital property be returned to the party who owned it before the marriage. A natural source of dispute, then, is what exactly constitutes marital property.
How long do you have to be married in Arkansas to get half?
How long do you have to be separated before you can get divorced in Arkansas? You must live separately from your spouse for 18 months in order to be granted a divorce in Arkansas.
Similarly, What determines alimony in Arkansas? The duration of payments is determined by a judge in Arkansas family court. Alimony length is usually based on length of marriage – one commonly used standard for alimony duration is that 1 year of alimony is paid every three years of marriage (however, this is not always the case in every state or with every judge).
Is Arkansas a alimony state?
In Arkansas, when one spouse pays financial assistance to help the other spouse, that assistance is called “alimony.” (Alimony is sometimes referred to as “spousal support” or “maintenance”.) Arkansas judges have wide discretion in deciding whether to award alimony, as well as the amount and duration.
How much does a divorce cost in Arkansas? Divorce Filing Fees and Typical Attorney Fees by State
|State||Average Filing Fees||Other Divorce Costs and Attorney Fees|
|Arkansas||$165||Average fees: $8,000+|
|California||$435 (Ask for a fee waiver)||Average fees: $14,000|
|Colorado||$230||Average fees: $11,000+|
|Connecticut||$360 (excluding paternity legal action)||Average fees: $12,000+|
• Jul 21, 2020
Is Arkansas A 50/50 divorce state? Arkansas is NOT a community property state, which means that marital property is not automatically divided 50/50 between the spouses in a divorce case.
Is there an adultery law in Arkansas? Adultery as a grounds
Adultery is the act of cheating on a spouse during any point in the marriage. It is a physical act, not an emotional one under Arkansas law. When citing it as a reason for the divorce, the party alleging the misconduct may ask the court to favor him or her during various stages of the process.
What are the divorce laws in Arkansas?
To file for divorce in Arkansas, you or your spouse must have been a resident of Arkansas for at least 60 days before filing for the divorce and 3 full months before the final judgment granting the divorce. No divorce will be granted until at least 30 days have passed from filing for the divorce.
What is the fastest way to get a divorce in Arkansas? The easiest and fastest way to get a divorce in Arkansas is an uncontested divorce. With this type, you and your spouse agree to end your marriage based on your personal, economic, or health situations. Additionally, you and your spouse agree on the division of assets and debts, as well as child custody and visitation.
What can be used against you in a divorce?
Anything you put in writing can be used against you and is fair game for the opposing party. However, if your ex plans to use texts or emails not directed toward them, he or she must be able to show that they had the authority to access the information.
Do I get half my husband’s pension if we divorce? In terms of how much either spouse is entitled to, the general rule is to divide pension benefits earned during the course of the marriage right down the middle. Though that means your spouse would be able to claim half your pension, they are limited to what was earned during the course of the marriage.
Is irreconcilable differences grounds for divorce in Arkansas?
Arkansas does not recognize “irreconcilable differences” as grounds for divorce. However, couples can get a divorce based on the grounds of “separation” if they live separately and apart from each other for at least 18 continuous months. This means you can still get a divorce without having to prove fault.
Can you get divorced without a lawyer Arkansas?
The spouse filing for an uncontested divorce is the “plaintiff,” and the other spouse is called the “defendant.” In an Arkansas uncontested divorce, the plaintiff must provide a reason, or grounds, for divorce.
Can you get divorced without going to court? An uncontested divorce is one in which you and your spouse work together to agree on the terms of your divorce. You will both consult with the same attorney, who will be unbiased and impartial. There is no formal trial, and only the plaintiff appears in court.
Can You Do Your Own divorce in Arkansas? How to File for an Uncontested Divorce in Arkansas
- Prepare and file your divorce papers. To start the process for an uncontested divorce in Arkansas, you should file a “Complaint for Divorce” in the circuit court clerk’s office of the county where you live. …
- Serve your spouse. …
- Attend a divorce hearing.
How do I protect myself financially in a divorce?
How to Financially Protect Yourself in a Divorce
- Legally establish the separation/divorce.
- Get a copy of your credit report and monitor activity.
- Separate debt to financially protect your assets.
- Move half of joint bank balances to a separate account.
- Comb through your assets.
- Conduct a cash flow analysis.
Can text messages be used against you in a divorce? Text Messages Between Spouses
As a general rule, if you have text messages from your spouse, you can use these as evidence during your divorce.
What a man should ask for in a divorce settlement?
Look for tax returns, bank statements, brokerage statements, employee benefit statements (401K plans, pension and retirement funds), home and business ownership documents, insurance policies, wills, trusts and any other financial document that may play a role in your divorce settlement.
How do I protect my retirement in a divorce? Here are six things you can do to prepare:
- Hire an experienced divorce attorney. Ideally, this person will emphasize mediation or collaborative divorce over litigation. …
- Open accounts in your name only. …
- Sort out mortgage and rent payments. …
- Be prepared to share retirement accounts.
Should I cash out my 401k before divorce?
Although you can withdraw retirement money for your divorce, this should be your last resort. Withdrawals from a 401k, especially before age 59 1/2. generally result in taxes and penalties. There are limited exceptions to this rule, but early withdrawals for a divorce case is not one of them.
How much of my pension will my ex wife get? A general rule of thumb when it comes to splitting pensions in divorce is that a spouse will receive half of what was earned during the marriage, though it depends on each state’s laws governing this subject.
What is abandonment in a marriage in Arkansas?
In all cases in which any husband abandons his wife, or any wife abandons her husband, and resides outside of the state for five successive years without being known to the other spouse to be living during that time, the abandoning party’s death shall be presumed.
What is a no fault divorce in Arkansas? A no-fault divorce in Arkansas means that the spouse who files for divorce (the Plaintiff) can be granted a divorce without having to prove that the other spouse (the Defendant) did something wrong.
How long does it take to get a divorce decree in Arkansas?
Please allow 10-14 days for processing, in addition to mail delivery time. Walk-in: You may order a certified copy of the divorce record by coming into the Arkansas Department of Health’s vital records office.
Don’t forget to share this post !