– Phone: (916) 322-3350.
– Hearing-Impaired Persons: 711, or (800) 735-2929 (TTY)
– California Relay Service: (800) 735-2922 (Voice)
– Request a BRN Speaker.

1) verify 520 hours of employment a year, or 2) complete 24 hours of continuing education, or 3) verify current certification in a nursing specialty area, or 4) complete a board approved refresher course, or 5) complete 6 academic semester credits hours of coursework at the current level of licensure or higher.

Subsequently, How do I reactivate my nursing license in Texas?

(f) A nurse who has not practiced nursing in Texas and whose license has been in an inactive status for less than four years may reactivate the license by completing the reactivation application form, paying the required reactivation fee and the current licensure fee which are non-refundable, and submitting …

Also, How many hours do nurses need to keep registration?

Renewal requirements:Two of the following every 2 years: 30 contact hours of approved CE. 30 hours of participation in approved professional activities.

What happens if you let your RN license expire?

If you are renewing your license after the expiration date and your status still indicates Clear/Active or Clear/Inactive, you will be assessed a delinquency fee. The delinquency fee will be in addition to your renewal fees.

Last Review : 17 days ago.

How do I file a complaint against a nurse in California?

To file a complaint, log onto the BRN’s Web site, www.rn.ca.gov and click on the “Enforcement” tab at the top of the page to access the complaint form and more information about the complaint process. You can also call the BRN at (916) 322-3350 and ask to have a complaint form mailed to you.

What to do if you let your nursing license expire?

Generally, nursing licenses are valid for two years. If your license is inactive or expired, you must contact the state board of nursing to renew it. Depending on the rules of your state, you may need to pay a renewal fee, take refresher courses or complete a board-approved reentry program.

Can you keep your nursing license active when not working?

Consider doing occasional volunteer work as a nurse. … If your state requires clinical hours and you do not work as a nurse for a period of time, your license may become inactive while you are home. You would then probably have to take a refresher course to re-activate it.

How long do you have to keep nursing CEUs?

For renewal of a license that has been issued for less than three years, the requirement is 24 contact hours or 2.4 CEUs. RNs are required to complete 30 contact hours every 2 years. There is no maximum on the number of independent study hours that can be obtained.

How do you report unsafe nursing conditions?

To file a complaint about improper care or unsafe conditions in a hospital, home health agency, hospice, or nursing home, contact your State Survey Agency. The State Survey Agency is usually part of your State’s department of health services.

Who regulates nurses in California?

The BRN regulates California registered nurses. There are over 430,000 registered nurses in California providing health care services in a variety of settings. The BRN sets educational standards for nursing programs which prepare individuals to become licensed as registered nurses.

How do you report unsafe nursing practice?

Any person who has knowledge of conduct by a licensed nurse that may violate a nursing law or rule or related state or federal law may report the alleged violation to the board of nursing where the conduct occurred. All jurisdictions have specific processes for complaint intake. Contact the Board of Nursing.

How long does a BRN investigation take?

between 6-14 months

How do I check the status of my California nursing license?

– California Board of Registered Nursing.
–  After submitting an application, you may check your current status from your online BreEZe account homepage.
– by clicking on the “Details” button for your application under the “View Application Status” heading.

What happens when a nurse is suspected of having violated the Nurse Practice Act?

Public reprimand or censure for minor violation of nurse practice act often with no restrictions on license. … Separation from practice for a period of time (suspension) or loss of license (revocation or voluntary surrender) Remediation (various educational content or exercises) Other state specific remedies.

How do I keep my LPN license active?

All LPNs who wish to maintain active license are required to complete 24 contact hours (might vary state to state) of continuing education for license renewal. The courses for the continuing education must be recognized by the Board. You shall be required to furnish to the Department of Justice and FBI.

What can nurses lose their license for?

A nursing license can be suspended or revoked due to accusations of unprofessional conduct, misconduct, dereliction of duty, gross negligence or incompetence in complaints brought by patients, coworkers or employers.

How can a registered nurse lose their license?

– Practice related.
– Abuse.
– Boundary violations.
– Sexual misconduct.
– Drug related.
– Fraud.
– Positive criminal background checks.

What happens if I let my nursing license expire?

Working with an expired nursing license can result in hefty fines, probation or suspension. Generally, nursing licenses are valid for two years. If your license is inactive or expired, you must contact the state board of nursing to renew it.

Why would a nursing license be inactive?

The steps required to obtain or renew a nursing license vary by state. If you haven’t worked in a while, your license might be inactive or expired.

[advanced_iframe use_shortcode_attributes_only=”true” src=”about:blank” height=”800″ width=”800″ change_parent_links_target=”a#link1″ show_iframe_as_layer=”external” enable_ios_mobile_scolling=”true”]
Spread the word ! Don’t forget to share.