The defendant’s case-in-chief is also the time that the defendant would present evidence to support any cross-claims or third-party claims he has against other parties to the action. After the defendant has examined one of his witnesses, the plaintiff has the right to cross-examine the same witness.

Consequently, What does in the case at bar mean? (Law) a case presently before the court; a case under argument.

What is it called when a case is finished? Adjudication: the judicial decision that ends a criminal proceeding by a judgment of acquittal, conviction, or dismissal of the case. Affidavit: a written statement that the writer swears is true.

Keeping this in consideration, What does it mean when the defense rests its case?

After the Government rests, the defense has the opportunity to present witnesses and evidence to the jury. The defense also has the option of not having the defendant testify. There is no burden upon the defendant to prove that they are innocent.

What is the purpose of the prosecution’s case-in-chief?

When court resumes, the prosecution begins its “case-in-chief,” in which witnesses of the prosecution’s choice are brought to the stand for “direct examination” by the prosecution. The testimony of these witnesses will form the substance of the prosecution’s case against the defendant.

What happens after examination in chief? After examination in chief, defendant can ask the cross-questions from the prosecution witness that is called cross-examination. After the cross-examination if the prosecution has some queries then he asks the question from the witness that is called re-examination.

What is Surrebuttal evidence? Surrebuttal is a procedure for opposing parties to answer evidence introduced in rebuttal by the applicant. Testimony or exhibits that are cumulative or attempts to introduce new evidence not intended to rebutt or surrebutt prior testimony or exhibits will not be allowed.

What are the four phases of testimony? In sequence, they are: Pleading Stage – filing the complaint and the defense’s motions. Pretrial Stage – discovery process, finding of facts. Trial Stage – seating of the jury, testimony on behalf of the plaintiffs and testimony on behalf of the defendants.

What is testimonial evidence also known as?

Testimonial evidence is a statement made under oath. An example would be a witness pointing to someone in the courtroom and saying, β€œThat’s the guy I saw robbing the grocery store.” This is also called direct evidence or prima facie evidence.

What is the importance of witness in a case? Importance of Witness

They help the court by clarifying what happened at the crime scene and all other details they know of the crime, all of which is relevant to the case and assist the judge in deciding criminal matters.

What is Chief affidavit?

Affidavit in chief – is the main affidavit evidence in support of a party’s claim or defense in court proceedings. It should contain all the evidence required to make out the claim or defense. A party may file many affidavits in chief in support of its case or defense.

What are the four types of witnesses? Typically the Four Types of witnesses are:

  • Lay witness.
  • Expert witness.
  • Character witness.
  • Secondary witness.

What does sur reply mean?

surreply (plural surreplies) (law) An additional reply to a motion filed after the motion has already been fully briefed.

What does rebuttal witness mean?

A rebuttal witness is a witness who is called to rebut testimony already presented at trial.

What goes in a closing statement? Generally, closing arguments should include: a summary of the evidence. any reasonable inferences that can be draw from the evidence. an attack on any holes or weaknesses in the other side’s case.

What are the 7 steps of a trial?

  • Investigation.
  • Charging.
  • Initial Hearing/Arraignment.
  • Discovery.
  • Plea Bargaining.
  • Preliminary Hearing.
  • Pre-Trial Motions.
  • Trial.

What are trial parts?

A complete criminal trial typically consists of six main phases, each of which is described in more detail below:

  • Choosing a Jury.
  • Opening Statements.
  • Witness Testimony and Cross-Examination.
  • Closing Arguments.
  • Jury Instruction.
  • Jury Deliberation and Verdict.

What are the 12 steps of a trial? 12 Steps Of A Trial Flashcards Preview

  • Opening statement made by the prosecutor or plaintiff. …
  • Opening statement made by the defendant. …
  • Direct examination by plaintiff or prosecutor. …
  • Cross examination by defense. …
  • Motions. …
  • Direct examination by defense. …
  • Cross examination by prosecutor or plaintiff.

What are 4 types of evidence?

There are four types evidence by which facts can be proven or disproven at trial which include:

  • Real evidence;
  • Demonstrative evidence;
  • Documentary evidence; and.
  • Testimonial evidence.

What are the 2 main types of evidence? There are two types of evidence — direct and circumstantial. Direct evidence usually is that which speaks for itself: eyewitness accounts, a confession, or a weapon.

What are the 4 most common types of evidence?

Generally speaking, there are four main kinds of evidence. These are testimonial, documentary, demonstrative, and what’s called real evidence.

What are the 5 types of witnesses? Online witness training will improve deposition performance and get results.

  • Expert Witness. Expert witnesses generally confine their testimony to a specific area of expertise. …
  • Eye Witness. …
  • Character Witness. …
  • Fact Witness.

Who can be a witness in a case?


  • A lay witness β€” the most common type β€” is a person who watched certain events and describes what they saw.
  • An expert witness is a specialist β€” someone who is educated in a certain area. …
  • A character witness is someone who knew the victim, the defendant, or other people involved in the case.

Who can testify? Who may testify? Any person who has witnessed the event is competent to testify, unless – the Court considers that they are unable to understand the questions posed to them, or unable to give rational answers as prescribed in Section 118.

Don’t forget to share this post !